It has already been a week since we ushered in 2012 and I am wondering how many of us have already started working on our goals and/or resolutions for this year. I remember posting on twitter, days before the 2011 ended, on how people have already started posting what changes they are planning to take on with the new year but how many took the time to reflect on what they have actually set for 2011, whether they achieved or accomplished it, is the real question. Beginnings involve reflections and reflections will help you with beginnings.

Talking about reflections and beginnings, it was nice to get in touch with friends and former officemates. I realized that moving forward would always mean acknowledging and thanking the people who helped you along the way. The point is by recognizing your humble beginnings and keeping your feet grounded, you will progress faster.

Beginning today the Department of Tourism launched the new branding for Philippine Tourism – Its More Fun in the Philippines. After social networking sites got hyped for the past days on the release of the new tourism slogan, it has finally landed. Judging from the buzz it is creating on twitter, most people seem to have picked up the excitement with a few throwing in a word or two against the campaign. The tagline is good and when I checked on the website, I enjoyed the pictures and the concept presented. DOT did not fail those people, including me, who waited and got excited with its release. I see this as a good beginning for a successful tourism campaign for the country.

This year is also a beginning for me as I promised myself to be more socially involved, more physically fit, and to be more environment friendly. I am taking the initial step of starting a new blog and I intend to update it weekly with my thoughts, insights, and opinions – adobongpinoy.

What’s with the name?

Adobo is a regular dish that you will find on the table of every Filipino house. I presume that we don’t miss out a week without having adobo as a viand. It is for the same reason that I am committing myself to updating adobongpinoy at least once a week this year.

Adobo is also a dish that has many variants across the country. Some are cooked with soy, without soy, with coconut milk, with chili, etc. – each province having their own variation on how to prepare the dish. In the same way, my new blog will have variations on the topics that I will be tackling and with varying emotions and opinions to share.

Now…why Pinoy? Go and figure it out!

***

Raving: DOH is pushing for a bill that will ban the individual use of firecrackers after they admitted the department’s failure with their campaign against firecrackers during the New Year revelry. The penalty if an individual is caught lighting a firecracker is a choice of cutting of one of your fingers or one of your toes.

Ranting: Jinky Pacquiao said that for those who have doubts about her picture on the magazine cover, they can just look at her to confirm. One thing is for sure…with money, you can get services to make you beautiful or the money will make you beautiful. Teh, walang pangit sa taong gipit.

Raving: Filipinos will always have a heart to help out and it was nice to experience how fast the whole Philippines came together to help out those who got affected by Sendong. When PNoy was asked to comment on reactions that he did not act fast enough, he answered…”Parteh! Parteh!”

Ranting: Another calamity struck Mindanao this week. A landslide happened that killed more than 20 people in Compostela Valley. Where is PNoy? Ano ba…nung mangyari nga yung sa CDO at Iligan kung saan libo-libo ang namatay…e ilang araw pa bago nagpakita si PNoy…ano pa kaya ito na less than 50 lang? Nagpa-schedule siya ng visit sa March sa area. “Parteh! Parteh!”

Raving: I enjoyed reading Chico and Delamar’s The Morning Rush Top 10. It was a nice read for the start of the year, it was nicely compiled, and it got me giggling and laughing. A must read for 2012.

Raving: I am happy with the DOT tagline “Its More Fun in the Philippines” that I encourage everyone to explore the country. You can also check out my travel blog: marctravels.livejournal.com where I share my travel experiences here in the country. Gee…shameless plug!!! #itsmorefuninthephilippines

